Office for the Public Sector


Gender Equality in Leadership

There is clear evidence to demonstrate that better outcomes are achieved across the spectrum of priorities when women are represented in the top tier of organisations.

The Gender Equality in Leadership Strategy was launched in 2016 focusing on three levers of Leadership Accountability, Empowered Workplaces and Talent Pipeline. Through its actions and the significant work undertaken across the public sector, there has been positive progress towards achieving gender equality in executive positions. As at June 2018, approximately 49% of all public sector executives were women.

Continuing momentum in gender equality initiatives is incorporated as a goal of the South Australian Public Sector Diversity and Inclusion Strategy 2019-21 (hyperlink), released in December 2019, which includes gender as a focus diversity stream.

Back to top